Academic insights for professionals in controlling & finance

Our perspective on controlling and who we are

WHU on Controlling is the communication portal for the practice-related activities of the Institute of Management Accounting and Control (IMC). It is aimed at anyone who is interested in conceptual topics of controlling in practice.

The Institute of Management Accounting and Control of WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management is under the joint directorship of Professor Utz Schäffer and Professor Jürgen Weber. As an academic think tank for the field of controlling in the German-speaking world, the Institute offers an independent and scientifically substantiated view of the current state of controlling and develops perspectives on future trends.

In particular, our role is to accompany the transformation of the financial function and the controlling profession towards an active partnership with management. In our view, controllers’ tasks are not limited to planning and supplying information, but also involve strategy execution and therefore touch on all aspects of management.

The key issues involved in this changing interaction include the role of the controller as business partner, the impact of digitalization on controlling, and behavioral controlling.

Our sources of information

Take a closer look at our rubrik "interactive key figures“ to gain insights into the findings of our WHU Controller Panel studies. Based on data collected during these studies, we have prepared metrics and benchmarks on the following topics:

  • Reporting
  • Planning
  • Investment controlling
  • Controlling practices and tools
  • The controller profession
  • Controlling organisation
  • Controlling & IT
  • Future trends of controlling

More

Gain insights into the latest developments and read brief impressions from interviews with leading experts from the field of controlling. Here is a selection of the topics that we looked at in 2016, which go far beyond traditional accounting issues:

  • Controlling & HR
  • Self service
  • Campus planung
  • Decision making

More

Gain insights into the latest developments and read brief impressions from interviews with leading experts from the field of controlling. Here is a selection of the topics that we looked at in 2016, which go far beyond traditional accounting issues:

  • Controlling & HR
  • Self service
  • Campus planung
  • Decision making

More

Our short video clips give a clear and concise picture of controlling topics, such as the roles and tasks that controllers have in companies, and how they can successfully work together with management. Take a look!

More

If you would like to find out more about controlling, why don't you follow us on LinkedIn and Xing. We will keep you updated on our latest studies, blog articles, interviews, current videos and other items of interest on our website.

Xing  LinkedIn

Of course we have an extensive network among the controlling community. We also publish articles regularly, for instance in our journal the WHU Controlling & Management Review, and organize our own conference for practitioners, the WHU Campus for Controlling. You will find more information on our website.

Network    Publications    Conference

Directors

Professor Dr.

Utz Schäffer

Director

+49-(0)261-6509-700

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c.

Jürgen Weber

Director

+49-(0)261-6509-470

Das wissenschaftliche Portal für die Controlling-Praxis

Unsere Sicht auf das Controlling und wer wir sind

WHU on Controlling bündelt die Kommunikation der Praxisaktivitäten des Instituts für Management und Controlling (IMC) und richtet sich an alle, die sich für konzeptionelle Themen des Controllings in der Praxis interessieren.

Das Institut für Management und Controlling der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management steht unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Utz Schäffer und Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Weber. Als akademischer Think Tank für das Controlling im deutschsprachigen Raum bietet es einen unabhängigen und wissenschaftlich fundierten Überblick über die aktuelle Controllingpraxis und entwickelt Perspektiven für deren zukünftige Entwicklung.

Das IMC begleitet insbesondere die Transformation der Finanzfunktion und des Berufsstandes der Controller hin zu einer aktiven Partnerschaft des Managements. Nach unserem Verständnis beschränken sich die Aufgaben der Controller nicht auf Planung und Informationsversorgung, sondern umfassen als Unternehmenssteuerung alle Facetten des Managements. Deshalb liegt der Fokus des IMCs auf der Interaktion von Controllern und Managern.

Zu den Kernthemen der Transformation dieser Interaktion zählen das Rollenmodell des Controllers als Business Partner, die Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung   auf das Controlling sowie die Verhaltensorientierung des Controllings.

Unsere Informationsquellen

Greifen Sie in der Rubrik „interaktive Kennzahlen“ auf unsere Datenbank zurück und erhalten Sie Einblick in die Studienergebnisse unseres WHU Controller Panels. Auf Basis der dabei gewonnenen Daten haben wir dort für Sie Kennzahlen und Benchmarks zu folgenden Themen aufbereitet:

  • Berichtswesen
  • Planung
  • Investitionscontrolling
  • Controllingpraktiken & -instrumente
  • Controllerberuf
  • Controllingorganisation
  • Controlling & IT
  • Zukunftsthemen des Controllings

Weiterlesen

Erhalten Sie Einblick in die neuesten Entwicklungen und lesen Sie die Kurzeindrücke von Interviews mit führenden Persönlichkeiten des Controllings. Anbei ein Auszug unserer dabei behandelten Themen aus dem Jahr 2016, die über das klassische Rechnungswesen hinausgehen:

  • Controlling & HR
  • Self Service
  • Campus Planung
  • Entscheidungsfindung

Weiterlesen

Werden Sie kostenlos WHU on Controlling Premium-Mitglied und erhalten Sie Zugriff auf regelmäßige Kurzzusammenfassungen unserer wichtigsten Studien und sonstige exklusive Inhalte. Unser mehrmals im Jahr versendeter Newsletter hält Sie zudem auf dem neuesten Stand.

Weiterlesen

Schauen Sie sich unsere kurzen Erklärvideos zum Thema Controlling an und erfahren Sie damit anschaulich und kompakt, welche Rollen und Aufgaben Controller im Unternehmen übernehmen und wie sie mit dem Management im Business zusammenarbeiten sollten.

Weiterlesen

Folgen Sie bei Interesse an weiteren Informationen gerne unseren Unternehmensseiten auf Linkedin und Xing. Wir informieren Sie hier wöchentlich über weiterführende Studien, Blogartikel, Interviews, neue Erklärvideos und weitere Inhalte auf unseren Seiten.

Xing  LinkedIn

Natürlich sind wir auch umfassend mit der Praxis des Controllings vernetzt, publizieren u.a. in unserer eigenen Zeitschrift WHU Controlling & Management Review und organisieren mit dem WHU Campus for Controlling eine eigene Konferenz. Finden Sie Details dazu auf unseren Unterseiten.

Netzwerk    Publikationen    Konferenz

Direktoren

Prof. Dr.

Utz Schäffer

Director

+49-(0)261-6509-700

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c.

Jürgen Weber

Director

+49-(0)261-6509-470